HBKU Graduate Scholarships
Hamad Bin Khalifa University (Qatar)
- Where you study
- Qatar · Education City, Doha
- Study level
- Master's
- PhD
Fall 2027: the online application opens on 1 October 2026 and closes on 1 February 2027 for international applicants.
Why: Admission is open to international applicants and no country is excluded on the official pages; Somalia is not named, so read the programme page before applying.
International applicants admitted to an HBKU master's or PhD programme. There is no separate scholarship application: funding is considered together with admission.
In short
Hamad Bin Khalifa University offers competitive funding for Master's and PhD study in Qatar. Somali applicants are likely eligible, but should check the programme page before applying.
How competitive
Competitive
Scholarships are competitive and decided with admission; the strongest applicants get the highest waivers.
English requirement
Not clearly stated
Fields of study
Islamic studies, humanities and social sciences, law, public policy, science and engineering, health and life sciences, computing
What it covers
Funding varies by programme. It may cover up to 100% of tuition, plus a monthly stipend and one round-trip airfare; housing is not provided.
- Tuition feesPartly
- Living allowanceIncluded
- TravelIncluded
- Health insuranceNot stated
- Visa costsNot stated
- AccommodationNot included
- FamilyNot stated
Competitive scholarships: a tuition waiver of up to 100% depending on the programme, a monthly stipend for international students and one round-trip airfare; housing is not provided. Check the current figures on the official page.
Only what the official source states. "Not stated" means we could not confirm it, not that it is excluded.
Who can apply
It is for international applicants admitted to an HBKU Master's or PhD programme. Somali applicants are likely eligible, but should check the programme page because Somalia is not named.
- You must be an international applicant.
- You must be admitted to an HBKU Master's or PhD programme.
- A Master's applicant needs a bachelor's degree and a strong academic record.
- A PhD applicant needs a master's degree and a strong academic record.
- Academic requirements differ by programme.
- Academic requirement
- A bachelor's degree (for a master's) or a master's degree (for a PhD) with a strong record; requirements differ by programme.
English requirement
Not clearly stated
The official source does not state a general English test requirement. Check your programme's page for its English test requirement.
Check your programme's page for the English test requirement.
Never assume IELTS is needed. Only the official page and the university you apply to decide.
Documents you will need
- Academic transcripts
- Degree certificate
- CV
- Motivation letter / personal statement
- Recommendation (reference) letters
- Passport (or national ID)
- Other documents (see the official page)
Online application with transcripts, degree certificates, a CV, a statement of purpose, reference contacts and your passport; some programmes ask for test scores.
How to apply
- 1Read the official programme page and check eligibility, English requirements, and current funding details.
- 2Choose an HBKU college and programme that fits your study level.
- 3Prepare transcripts, degree certificates, a CV, a statement, references, and your passport or national ID.
- 4Create an account on HBKU's official application website and submit your online admission application.
- 5After submitting, follow the account instructions to upload extra documents and provide reference contacts.
- 6Apply by 1 February 2027 for Fall 2027; scholarship funding is considered with admission.
Prepare well
- Start early so you have time to gather records and complete the online application.
- Check your programme page for its specific academic and English requirements.
- Ask your referees early and make sure you can provide their contact details.
- Write a clear statement that explains your study goals and fits the programme.
Important notes
- There is no separate scholarship application; funding is considered with admission.
- Housing is not provided, and the tuition waiver can be less than 100%.
- The international applicant deadline is 1 February 2027.
- Some programmes may ask for test scores; check the programme page.
Official source
ZitTalent explains; the official website decides. Always check the official page before you apply, and apply only there.
Official page last checked 27 September 2026
The explanation was written by AI from the verified facts and the official page, then checked by fixed rules: any amount, date, score or document the source does not state is removed.