Clarendon Fund Scholarships
University of Oxford (UK)
- Where you study
- United Kingdom · University of Oxford
- Study level
- Master's
- PhD
Apply for your Oxford course by its December 2026 or January 2027 deadline; there is no separate scholarship application. Scholars are told by April 2027.
Why: There is no nationality restriction; Somali applicants are considered like everyone else when they apply for an Oxford graduate course.
No restriction on nationality: every applicant for a full-time or part-time master's or DPhil course at Oxford is considered automatically.
In short
The Clarendon Fund is a fully funded scholarship from the University of Oxford in the UK for Master's and PhD study. Somali applicants are eligible, and there is no separate scholarship application.
How competitive
Highly competitive
Around 200 scholarships a year across all of Oxford's graduate applicants.
English requirement
The university decides
Fields of study
Any graduate course at Oxford
What it covers
It covers course fees in full and provides an annual grant for living costs for the full course length.
- Tuition feesIncluded
- Living allowanceIncluded
- TravelNot stated
- Health insuranceNot stated
- Visa costsNot stated
- AccommodationNot stated
- FamilyNot stated
Course fees in full and an annual grant for living costs, for the full length of the course.
Only what the official source states. "Not stated" means we could not confirm it, not that it is excluded.
Who can apply
It is for applicants of any nationality applying to a full-time or part-time Oxford Master's or DPhil course. Somali applicants are eligible; selection is based on academic excellence and potential.
- Applicants of any nationality may apply, including Somali applicants.
- Apply to a full-time or part-time Master's or DPhil course at Oxford.
- Have a very strong academic record.
- Selection considers academic excellence and potential.
- No work experience requirement is stated.
- No age requirement is stated.
- Academic requirement
- A very strong academic record (typically a first-class or strong upper second-class degree); selection is on academic excellence and potential.
- Selection
- Academic departments nominate their strongest applicants; the Clarendon Fund selects on academic merit.
English requirement
The university decides
The scholarship has no English test requirement. Oxford sets an English requirement for each course, at standard or higher level.
Oxford sets an English requirement for each course (standard or higher level); the scholarship adds none.
Never assume IELTS is needed. Only the official page and the university you apply to decide.
Documents you will need
- Academic transcripts
- CV
- Motivation letter / personal statement
- Research proposal
- Recommendation (reference) letters
- Degree certificate
The Oxford course application itself: transcripts, CV, a statement of purpose or research proposal, references and, for some courses, written work.
How to apply
- 1Check the Oxford course details and its eligibility requirements.
- 2Choose an eligible Oxford graduate course and check its deadline.
- 3Prepare the required documents, including transcripts, CV, statement, references and any course-specific materials.
- 4Apply online for the Oxford course by its December 2026 or January 2027 deadline.
- 5There is no separate Clarendon scholarship application; your course application is considered automatically.
- 6Wait for the result; scholars are told by April 2027.
Prepare well
- Check your chosen course's deadline early, because deadlines vary by course.
- Prepare a clear statement that shows your academic strengths and potential.
- Ask your referees for recommendation letters early, and gather your transcripts and degree certificate.
Important notes
- You are considered for the scholarship through your Oxford course application; there is no separate scholarship application.
- Course deadlines vary. For 2027 entry, apply by your course's December 2026 or January 2027 deadline.
- The scholarship is highly competitive; around 200 are awarded each year across Oxford graduate applicants.
Official source
ZitTalent explains; the official website decides. Always check the official page before you apply, and apply only there.
Official page last checked 27 September 2026
The explanation was written by AI from the verified facts and the official page, then checked by fixed rules: any amount, date, score or document the source does not state is removed.